Posted in

KKNK Dramaweb SA 2022 finalists announced!

Posted in

The finalists in the popular online KKNK Dramaweb SA drama competition have been chosen!

These learners’ video entries were carefully selected from among hundreds of hopefuls, with the finalists now expected to battle it out on-stage at the national finals during a live broadcast on Sunday 19 June 2022, on the Klein Karoo National Art Festival’s (KKNK) YouTube channel and website.

This exciting process attracted around 15 000 viewers during last year’s final!

The judges are very impressed with this year’s KKNK Dramaweb SA entries which were received from across the country, says Ira Blanckenberg, founder and convenor of the competition, which is run in partnership with the KKNK.

“It was lovely once again – having of course carefully evaluated all elements, to provide constructive feedback – to judge this year’s work and choose the finalists. The fact remains: our country is filled with talented aspirant actors!” she says.

“The goal of KKNK Dramaweb SA remains the same: we want to hone the skills of young actors and teach them valuable skills through the competition which they can take on their journey ahead and add to their personal arsenal, such as self-confidence, creative thinking, communication skills, and discipline.”

The competition is open to both English and Afrikaans participants in various divisions, including undramatised poem and/or prose, prepared reading, monologue and even mimicry.

The programme for Sunday 19 June is as follows:
09:30 – Grade RR to 1
10:00 – Grade 2 to 4
11:00 – Grade 5 to 7
Lunch break
13:00 – Grade 8 to 10
15:00 – Grade 11 to 12
17:30 – Live announcement of the Top 3 in each category and the prize-giving.

*The Afrikaans finals are held on Saturday 18 June 2022 from 09:00.

The development and building of the youth’s drama talent lies close to the heart of the KKNK, says Hugo Theart, KKNK’s artistic director. “This partnership is one proudly supported by the KKNK, as it speaks to the same goals we also want to reach: to be a platform for the arts and literature, and a resource that can help learners choose a possible future in performing arts, as well as cultivating audiences and supporters of the arts.”

Congratulations to the finalists:

Gabriella Tucker, Curro Krugersdorp
Khanya Duvenhage, Tuisskool
Leyla Heinz, Curro Krugersdorp
Reuben de Jager, Parys Primêr
Stefan Pretorius, Laerskool Randfontein

AFRIKAANS Graad 2 tot 4
Alice Grobler, Laerskool Roodekrans
Annabella Stam, Curro Durbanville
Caleb Haefele, Curro Durbanville
Cara Claassen, Laerskool Roodekrans
Carli de Jager, Parys Primêr
Kyla Oosthuizen, Improv Studios
Milan van Niekerk, Laerskool Roodekrans
Telika Kruger, Trinity Little Falls
Theodore van Diemen, Laerskool Anton van Wouw
Valantay Pietersen, Christelike Privaatskool Malmesbury

AFRIKAANS Graad 5 tot 7
Amy Perkins, Curro Durbanville
Elizabeth Coetzer, Curro Durbanville
Grace Lynch, Curro Durbanville
Janel Meijer, Laerskool Anton van Wouw
Leané Nortje, Laerskool Helderkruin
Lucy Morillion, Curro Durbanville
Mabel Matthee, Rûens Kollege
Mia-Cecilia Kriel, Curro Durbanville
Ngcali Dantile, Curro Durbanville
Rossouw van Wyk, Laerskool Nelspruit

AFRIKAANS Graad 8 tot 10
Ethan Bester, Hoërskool Randburg
Gabriella Grasso, Fairmont High School
Gabriella Grobbelaar, Pearson High School
Gabriella Groves, Hoërskool Durbanville
Lenadri Groenewald, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Liané Schuck, Hoër Tegniese Skool Middelburg
Lillian de Valle, Grantleigh High School
Marelee Ferreira, Curro Windhoek Gimnasium
Monica Swart, Hoërskool Eldoraigne
Unathi Mankahla, Hoërskool Parel Vallei

ENGLISH Grade 11 to 12
Asenathi Mzola, Apex High School
Bridget Wesson, Hoërskool Melkbosstrand
Courtney Schelhase, Hoërskool Tygerberg
Mbali Mbiza, Apex High School
Nangamso Dubula, Apex High School
Nicole Booyens, Glenwood House
Sakhikhaya Zingange, Apex High School
Taylor Davids, Apex High School
Wayde Solomons, Apex High School

AFRIKAANS Grade RR tot 1
Alri Vermaak, Iprov Studios
Anca Peter, Laerskool De Hoop
Chanté Benson, Laerskool Krugerpark
Hilda van Wyk, Pikkies Paradys
Lexi Hanekom, Pikkies Paradys
Mia Spies, Laerskool Unika
Mila Palvi, Pikkie Paradys Senior
Reine du Plessis, Improv Studios
Riley Verheem, Improv Studios
Steven Palvi, Pikkie Paradys Senior

AFRIKAANS Grade 2 tot 4
Khloë Hanekom, Laerskool Gene Louw
Kiara Zietsman, Curro Durbanville
Leila Erasmus, Welkom Volkskool
Leila Palvi, Laerskool Gene Louw
Liam Steynberg, Laerskool Roodekrans
Lize Botes, Laerskool Protearif
Marinell Wolmarans, Laerskool Gene Louw
Matthew Louw, Laerskool Gene Louw
Mieke Drenth, Laerskool Wonderboom
Milan van Niekerk, Laerskool Roodekrans

AFRIKAANS Grade 5 tot 7
Amonique Bence, Laerskool Constantia
Daniël Snyman, Laerskool Durbanville
Edward Harding, Laerskool Muldersdrift
Luca Human, Curro Durbanville
Mabel Matthee, Rûens Kollege
Marné Pretorius, Laerskool Witrivier
Mia-Cecilia Kriel, Curro Durbanville
Risa Burger, Curro Durbanville
Rossouw van Wyk, Laerskool Nelspruit
Symone Venter, Laerskool Kenmare

AFRIKAANS Grade 8 tot 10
Anome Meyer, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Ethan Bester, Hoërskool Randburg
Kamryn Lowe, Oranje Meisieskool
Liné Allen, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Marelee Ferreira, Curro Windhoek Gymnasium
Mongenique Viljoen, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Monja van Heerden, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Rian Knoesen, Hoërskool Zwartkop
Rico Immelman, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Zander Oberholster, Hoërskool Martin Oosthuizen

AFRIKAANS Grade 11 tot 12
Anastacia Pharo, Apex High School
Ann-ne Venter, Hoërskool Durbanville
Carla Swanepoel, Hoërskool Durbanville
Charnelle Beukes, Apex High School
Danelle Jacobs, Hoërskool Martin Oosthuizen
Karli Marais, Hoërskool Noordheuwel
Lisa Kukard, Hoërskool Durbanville
Mariska Esau, Apex Hoër
Paul Strydom, Hoërskool Parel Vallei
Zane Habig, Hoërskool Parel Vallei
Zoe Labuscagne, Hoërskool Noordheuwel

The finals are broadcasted live on the KKNK Dramaweb SA website at kknk.co.za/dramaweb-sa and the judges will evaluate the live performances online.

The KKNK is sponsored by Absa and Media24 with support from the Het Jan Marais Nationale Fonds, the provincial Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport, the Oudtshoorn Municipality, and Business and Arts South Africa (BASA).